Classic | Adding a User Profile

Classic | Adding a User Profile

About

User Profiles are used to create and maintain company level users on the payroll. User Profiles are also used to specify which employees a user can access on company and frequency level. When defining a User Profile, the relevant Security Roles can be selected. Security Roles should therefore be created before adding a User Profile.

Please note: Click on any image in the article to enlarge.

NextGen or Classic

The Classic version is the name given to the previous look and feel of the system. Important to note, both NextGen and Classic point to the same database. No data migration is therefore applicable. 

This article covers Adding a User Profile for the Classic version of the system.

An Example of the Classic Landing Page


The article that explains the same for the new and improved NextGen version, is coming soon.

An Example of the NextGen Landing Page


Edition

This feature is available on Lite, Premier and Master.

Navigation:Company Menu>Security>User Profiles

Overview





Important Comments

Password Requirements
The password must:
  1. Be a minimum of eight characters.
  2. Contain a minimum of one numeric characters.
  3. Contain a minimum of one uppercase character.
  4. Contain a minimum of 1 lowercase character.
  5. Not contain the word “password”.
  6. Not contain space or spaces between characters.
One Security Role in a Company per User Profile
A User Profile should only be linked to one Security Role per company. Since the ESS Role is automatically linked when the employee registers for Employee Self Service, it is not necessary to select the ESS Role on the User Profile Screen for a Company Level User.
Security Company Settings
Navigation:Company Menu>Configuration>Company Settings

Select the Category Heading: Security.
  1. Inactive Automatically upon Termination
    A user can be made inactive automatically upon being terminated by selecting a Company Setting:


  2. User Profile with Two Security Roles in Two Different Companies
    Should a User Profile be linked to two Security Roles and two different companies, the Security Role with the least amount of access will apply. A company setting can be selected to apply the security permissions linked to the respective Security Role within each company.


  3. Using the Same E-mail Address and Prioritise User Profile Access
    Should the user want to keep the same e-mail address and prioritise the User Profile access over the ESS Security Role access, the following company setting can be selected:


You may also be interested in


    • Related Articles

    • Classic | Maintaining a User Profile

      About Once a User Profile has been created, the access of the user can be changed by editing their User Profile. Changes can include the Security Role, the Companies and/or Frequencies the user has access to. This screen can also be used to change ...
    • Classic | Adding a New Company

      About The system offers a pre-defined workflow path that guides you through the sequence of adding a new company. The Add New Company Generic Workflow consists of the following screens: Please note: Click on any image in the article to enlarge. ...
    • Classic | Creating a Security Role

      About You can create Security Roles to specify which screens and fields a user can access. Please note: Click on any image in the article to enlarge. NextGen or Classic The Classic version is the name given to the previous look and feel of the ...
    • Classic | Maintaining Security Roles

      About Once a Security Role has been added, you will need to specify the access required on screens and/or fields within the system. Please note: Click on any image in the article to enlarge. NextGen or Classic The Classic version is the name given to ...
    • Classic | Activating a User

      About A user can be made active or inactive on the User Profile Screen. User profiles are also automatically made inactive when five incorrect attempts to log onto the system have been captured. The user profile will need to be activated again for ...